Academy of Accounting Historians


Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research Award


The Academy of Accounting Historians annually honors an individual as the recipient of the Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research Award.  The Award is given for outstanding biographical research in the discipline of accountancy.  The award includes a plaque and a financial award.  Dr. Thomas J. Burns, for whom the award is named, was a long-time professor at Ohio State University and a past president of the Academy of Accounting Historians.

Self nominations are acceptable.  Each nomination should be accompanied by a paragraph or more detailing why the nominee should be a candidate for the award.  The award can be for a single publication or for a lifetime of biographical work.


Deadline for Nominations: June 1, 2015

Send nominations to: Academy Executive Committee at

Congratulations to the 2014 Recipients! Massimo Sargiacomo (Università degli Studi di Chieti-Pescara) Stefania Servalli (University of Bergamo) Paolo Andrei (University of Parma)

For their biographical paper, “Fabio Besta: accounting thinker and accounting history pioneer”, focused on Fabio Besta,  the so-called "unsurpassed Master" of the Italian tradition.  The group portrays Fabio Besta as both a brilliant accounting thinker and an accounting history pioneer as revealed in his publication of a monumental milestone in accounting history called "La Ragioneria".

Massimo Sargiacomo is a Full Professor of Business Economics at the University G.d’Annunzio of Chieti-Pescara (Italy).  Massimo has been Vice-Rector to Management and Administration at the University G.d’Annunzio, and Dean of the Faculty of Managerial Sciences, Open University Leonardo da Vinci.  He still serves as Vice-President of the University G.d’Annunzio Foundation of Chieti-Pescara and Director of the Master Programme on “Direction and Management of Healthcare Organizations”.  Massimo also serves on a number of editorial boards, is President of the Academy of Accounting Historians and is a member of the Board of the Italian Society of Accounting History, delegated to International Relations.  Massimo has published various papers and was the winner of the “Best Manuscript Award” in Accounting History 2009.  His research topics are Accounting History, Government Accounting and Accounting and Management of Healthcare Organizations.

Stefania Servalli is an associate professor in Business Economics at the University of Bergamo (Italy).  Since 2005, she has been a member of the Board of the Italian Society of Accounting History.  Since 2001, she has been a member of the Editorial Board of “Contabilità e Cultura Aziendale” (review of Italian Society of Accounting History) and Stefania has been the Editor of the latter since 2014.  She has published papers in “Accounting History”, “Accounting History Review” and” Accounting, Auditing and Accountability Journal”.  Her research topics are Accounting History, Accounting Theory, International Accounting and Accounting Regulation.

Paolo Andrei is a full professor in Business Economics in the Department of Economics at the University of Parma (Italy), where he is the Coordinator of the “Area di Ricerche Aziendali “Gino Zappa”” (Area for Corporate Research “Gino Zappa”).  From January 2011 to July 2012, Paolo served as Head of the Department of Economics at the University of Parma; from December 2003 to December 2010, he was the Vice-Rector for Teaching Affairs at the University of Parma; in the preceding years 2002-2006, he was Vice Dean of the Faculty of Economics, University of Parma.  Paolo’s research interests include corporate financial and economic communication (both in Italian and international contexts); Business Administration; Accounting History and Corporate Social Responsibility with particular attention on Social Reporting.


Past recipients of the Award:

 2013  Stephen P. Walker, University of Edinburgh
 2012  No Award Presented
 2011  Edward Coffman, Virginia Commonwealth University
 2010  Laurie Barfitt, Western New Mexico University and Dan Jensen, The Ohio State University
 2009  E. Richard Criscione, Morehead State University
 2008  Stephen A. Zeff, Rice University
 2007  Donald E. Tidrick, Northern Illinois University
 2006  Richard G. Vangermeersch, University of Rhode Island
 2005  Dale L. Flesher, University of Mississippi


© Academy of Accounting Historians
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software