Academy of Accounting Historians


Hourglass Award


The Hourglass Award of the Academy of Accounting Historians is presented annually to an individual who has made a demonstrable and significant contribution to knowledge through research and publication in accounting history. The judging panel will echo the tradition of openness and flexibility associated with the Award and will emphasize the importance of contribution as the fundamental criterion. To that end there is no restriction as to who may make a nomination, the country in which the nominee is resident, or the paradigms and methodologies employed in the nominee’s work. Nominators are asked to supply a 200 word (maximum) statement summarizing the reasons why the nominee should be considered, full contact details of the nominator and nominee and a list of relevant contributions and any other relevant documentation supplied by the nominee who has agreed to be nominated.


Deadline for Nominations: June 1, 2015


Send nominations to: Academy Executive Committee at


Congratulations to the 2014 Recipient!
   Dale L. Flesher (University of Mississippi)

Dale L. Flesher is a Professor in the Patterson School of Accountancy at the University of Mississippi and holds the Roland & Sheryl Burns Chair; he also serves as associate dean of the School of Accountancy.  He received both bachelors and masters degrees from Ball State University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati.  He has authored over 4 00 articles for more than 100 professional journals throughout the world, including The Accounting Review, Journal of Accountancy, The CPA Journal, ABACUS, The Accounting Historians Journal, Accounting and Business Research, and Accounting, Organizations and Society.  He is also the author of 50 books (in 89 editions), including the 50th anniversary history of The Institute of Internal Auditors, the centennial history of NASBA, and the 75th anniversary history of the American Accounting Association.  Dr. Flesher has served as editor of The Accounting Historians Journal, a position he held from 1989 through 1994.  He previously edited The Accounting Historians Notebook for ten years.

Dr. Flesher has won numerous research and teaching awards.  He received the University of Mississippi's 1987 Burlington Northern Faculty Achievement Award as the outstanding faculty member campuswide.  Earlier, in 1976, he won the campus-wide outstanding teacher of the year award from Appalachian State University.  He won the 1990 Leon Radde Award from the Institute of Internal Auditors as the outstanding auditing educator world wide.  He was selected by the Mississippi Society of CPAs as the 1998 Accounting Educator of the Year.  In 2005, he received the first Thomas J. Burns Biographical Research in Accountancy Award.  In 2011, he was selected by the AICPA as the nation’s outstanding accounting educator.  He also received the 2011 Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award from the University of Mississippi, which is a lifetime achievement award.  In 2014, he was honored by the Academy of Accounting Historians with its Hourglass Award.  He has served on the Board of Trustees of the AICPA Foundation and was a member of AICPA’s governing Council.  He is a past president of the Academy of Accounting Historians.  He has served the American Accounting Association as vice president of finance and as president of the Teaching, Learning & Curriculum Section. 

His wife, Tonya, is also an accounting professor and former dean at Ole Miss.  She, too, has served as president of the Academy of Accounting Historians.  They have two adult children and live in Oxford, Mississippi.


Past recipients of the Award:

1973     Stephen A. Zeff, Rice University

1974     Michael Chatfield, Southern Oregon State College

1975     Hanns-Martin Schoenfeld, University of Illinois

1976     Osamu Kojima, Kwansei Gakuin University

1976     Basil S. Yamey, London School of Economics

1977     Antonie van Seventer, San Francisco State University

1978     David A. R. Forrester, Strathclyde University

1979     Murray Wells, University of Sydney

1980     Barbara D. Merino, University of North Texas

1980     Gary J. Previts, Case Western Reserve University

1981     H. Thomas Johnson, Portland State University

1982     Williard E. Stone, University of Florida

1983     Richard P. Brief, New York University

1984     Esteban Hernandez Esteve, Bank of Spain

1985     Edgar Jones                                   

1986     Leonard P. Spacek, The Ohio State University

1987     M. Ernest Stevelinck                    

1988     Peter L. McMickle, University of Memphis

1988     Richard G. Vangermeersch, University of Rhode Island

1989     Greg Whittred, University of Auckland

1990     Anne Loft, Copenhagen Business School

1991     Philip D. Bougen, University of New Mexico

1992     Basil Yamey, London School of Economics

1993     James Don Edwards, University of Georgia

1994     John Richard Edwards, Cardiff Business School

1995     Esteban Hernandez Esteve, Bank of Spain

1996     Michael Chatfield, Southern Oregon State College

1996     Richard C. Vangermeersch, University of Rhode Island

1997     Edward N. Coffman, Virginia Commonwealth University

1998     Robert H. Parker, University of Exeter, UK

1999     Richard K. Fleischman, John Carroll University

2000     Yannick Lemarchand, Universite de Nantes

2001     Stephen A. Zeff, Rice University

2002     Dale A. Buckmaster, University of Delaware

2003     Richard V. Mattessich, University of British Columbia

2004     Lee D. Parker, University of Adelaide

2005     Stephen P. Walker, University of Edinburgh

2006     Warwick N. Funnell, University of Wollongong

2007     Salvador Carmona, University Carlos III de Madrid

2008     Geofrey H. Burrows, University of Melbourne

2009     Mahmoud A. Ezzamel, Cardiff University

2010     Thomas N. Tyson, St. John Fisher College

2011     Oktay Guvemli, Marmara University

2012     Alan J. Richardson, University of Windsor

2013     David A. McCollum-Oldroyd, Durham University




© Academy of Accounting Historians
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software