Academy of Accounting Historians


The Innovation in Accounting History Education Award

The intent of the Innovation in Accounting History Education Award is to encourage innovations in accounting history education. The award (a plaque) will be presented to an individual(s) who has developed and implemented an innovative technique/method for incorporating accounting history topics into undergraduate or graduate accounting courses.


Examples of innovative techniques/methods include, but are not limited to:

  • Developing a case, video, audio or
  • Course syllabus, etc, that can be used to integrate accounting history topics into accounting courses or
  • Presenting a seminar or condensed course on an accounting history topic

To be eligible, the innovation must have been used in a course that the applicant has taught or is currently teaching. Electronic submissions only should include the following items (as applicable):

  • A description of the innovative technique/method;
  • Submission of the case, video, audio or other innovation, as appropriate, and teaching notes;
  • Identification and description of the course or seminar in which the innovation was used; and
  • An explanation of how the innovation has enriched the accounting course being taught.

Deadline for Nominations: June 1, 2016


Send nomiations to: Academy Executive Committee at


Congratulations to the 2015 Recipient! James McKinney (University of Maryland)

James McKinney, a Clinical Professor of Accounting and Information Assurance at the Robert H. Smith School of Business at the University of Maryland  is an award winning author of accounting research, teacher, and student organization faculty advisor. He has served as President of the Academy of Accounting Historians as well as an editor of one of its publications, the Accounting Historians Notebook, Vice President – Communications, and is currently an Academy Trustee.  He is a CPA and has worked in public accounting, including the national auditing office of his firm, as well as in the internal audit department of a Fortune 500 company. He served as a Board member of the Maryland Association of CPAs. McKinney has given numerous presentations of his research at the national and international meetings of the American Accounting Association, the Academy of Accounting Historians, and the World Congress of Accounting Historians. His research relates primarily to accounting professionalization and organizational issues both current and historic.

Past recipients of the Award:

 2014  Stephan A. Fafatas, Washington and Lee University
 2013 Donald Ariail, Southern Polytechnic State University; Joseph Durden, Nova Southeastern University; Marilyn Leathart, Texas A&M University - Central Texas; Lynette Capman Vasill, Texas A&M University - San Antonio
 2012 No Award Presented
 2011 Bob van den Brand, Eddy Cardinaels, Gert Jan Luijten, Ivo van Amelsfoort and Edith Leung, Tilburg University
 2010 Thomas Tyson, St. John Fisher College
 2009 Jayne Bisman, Charles Sturt University and Ellen Uppman, Univerity of Portland
 2008 Robert Bloom, John Carroll University
 2006 No Award Presented
 2004 David Oldroyd, University of Newcastle
 2003 William Samson, University of Alabama
 2001 David S. Deines and David R. Vruwink, Kansas State University


© Academy of Accounting Historians
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software