Academy of Accounting Historians


The Margit F. and Hanns Martin Schoenfeld Scholarship
The Academy of Accounting Historians annually awards an individual or individual as the recipient or recipients of the Margit F. and Hanns Martin Schoenfeld Scholarship.  The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage and support research on the history of accounting by doctoral students and recently appointed accounting faculty. The scholarship was initiated by the generous gift of Dr. Hanns Martin Schoenfeld and the late Dr. Margit Schoenfeld in recognition of their belief in the importance of historical scholarship to accounting education and research.


A monetary award is available to support research on a doctoral dissertation, or develop publications proceeding therefrom by a recent PhD graduate. Qualifying research topics should address the history of accounting. Projects of an international nature and those pursued by scholars whose first language is not English are particularly invited. Applicants must be currently enrolled for a PhD by research, or have completed a PhD by research within the last five years.


Applicants should submit a full curriculum vitae and a statement (containing a maximum of 1,000 words) which discusses the doctoral research undertaken on the history of accounting, the stage reached and how the award would prove beneficial to the applicant. A short statement from a supervisor should also be submitted in the case of applicants currently enrolled for a PhD.


Deadline for Nominations: June 1, 2015


Send nominations to: Academy Executive Committee at


Congratulations to the 2014 Recipient!
   Deborah Anderson (University of Oxford)

Deborah Anderson (University of Oxford) was selected as the 2014 recipient of the Margit F. and Hanns Martin Schoenfeld Scholarship for her research on the topic, “A History of Valuation in US GAAP: A Critical Perspective”.

Deborah started her doctorate in Management Studies in the fall of 2013 at the University of Oxford. She is a member of Lincoln College, a Clarendon Scholar and a recipient of the Sloane-Robinson Scholarship. Her research interests include financial reporting, international regulation of accounting, accounting history and philosophy.

Prior to starting her research at Oxford, Deborah earned a BA in Philosophy (summa cum laude), a BS in Accounting (summa cum laude), and a Master of Tax Accounting (summa cum laude). She worked in the private equity tax group of PricewaterhouseCoopers' Boston office and earned her CPA in the state of Massachusetts.

Past recipients of the Award:

        2008    Sonia Granado Suarez, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

        2009    Delfina Gomes, University of Minho

        2010    No Award Presented

        2011    Ofelia Pinto, University of Ballarat

        2012    Miguel Goncalves, University of Minho

        2012    Martin Persson, University of London

        2013    Krysta Heathcote, University of Johannesburg


© Academy of Accounting Historians
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software