Academy of Accounting Historians


The Vangermeersch Manuscript Award


In 1988, The Academy of Accounting Historians established an annual manuscript award to encourage scholars new to the field to pursue historical research. An historical manuscript on any aspect of the field of accounting, broadly defined, is appropriate for submission.


Eligibility and Guidelines for Submissions

Any accounting faculty member, who holds a full-time appointment and who received his/her masters/doctorate within seven years previous to the date of submission, is eligible to be considered for this award. Coauthored manuscripts will be considered (if at least one coauthor received his/her master/doctorate within the last seven years). Manuscripts must conform to the style requirements of the Accounting Historians Journal. Previously published manuscripts or manuscripts under review are not eligible for consideration. A cover letter, indicating the author’s mailing address, the date of the award of the masters/doctoral degree, and a statement that the manuscript has not been published or is not currently being considered for publication should be included in the submission packet.  Submissions should be sent as a Word attachment via email.


Review Process and Award

The Vangermeersch Manuscript Award Committee will evaluate submitted manuscripts on a blind-review basis and select one recipient each year. The author will receive a $500 (U.S.) stipend and a plaque to recognize his/her outstanding achievement in historical research. In the case of coauthored manuscripts, only the junior faculty member(s) will receive prizes. The winning manuscript will be published in the Accounting Historians Journal after an appropriate review. The award will be given annually unless the Manuscript Award Committee determines that no submission warrants recognition as an outstanding manuscript.


Deadline for Nominations: June 1, 2016


Send nominations to: Academy Executive Committee at


No award presented in 2015.

Past recipients of the Award:

2014: Martin E. Persson, Western University, “R. J. Chambers and the AICPA’s Postulates and Principles Controversy: A Case of Vicarious Action”

2013: Kevin C. Carduff, College of Charleston, "Stewardship in Corporate Reporting: The Annual Reports of U.S. Steel (1938-1969)"


2012: Pierre Labardin, Université Paris-Dauphine, "Accounting Valuation and Self-Interest in Nineteenth Century French Bankruptcy"


2011: Rania Mousa, University of Evansville, "The Development of Electronic Filing Process: IHM Revenue & Customas, 1960s-2010"


2010: Michael Doron, Eastern Washington University, "I Ask the Profession to Stand Still:' The Evolution of American Public Accountancy, 1927-62"


2009: James McKinney, University of Maryland, "Audit Companies: Emergence, Prevelence, and Prominence in the United States Accounting Profession"


2008: Nicolas Praquin, University of Paris-Dauphine, "The Emergence and Disappearance of Risk Assessment in Banking: The Case of the Credit Lyonais in France in the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries"


2007: Phillip Cobbin, University of Melbourne, "The best brains in public accountancy – The restricted membership of the Army Accountancy Advisory Panel 1942–1945"


2006: Suki Sian, Cardiff University, "Patterns of prejudice: Social exclusion and racial demarcation in professional accountancy in Kenya"


2005: No Award Presented


2004: No Award Presented


2003: Shanta Davie, Newcastle University, "Accounting’s uses in exploitative human engineering: theorizing citizenship, indirect rule and Britain’s imperial expansion"


2002: Yin Xu, Old Dominion University, "Becoming Professional: Chinese Accounants in Early Twentieth-Century Shangai"


2001: Maria Macias, Carlos III de Madrid University, Privatization and Management Accounting Systems Change: The Case of the 19th Century Spanish Tobacco Monopoly"


2000: No Award Presented


1999: No Award Presented


1998: Michael Schoderbek, Rutgers University, Robert Morris and Reporting for the Treasury Under the U.S. Continental Congress"


























© Academy of Accounting Historians
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management